In Maryland, the law states that anyone born on or after July 1, 1972, must possess a certificate of boating safety education in order to operate any motorized vessel. This certificate, valid for life, is non-renewable and must be carried by the student at all times while operating a vessel. The Certificate must be shown on request, to any Maryland Natural Resources Police Officer or other law enforcement officer. Officers may or may not ask to see the certificate during a vessel check, but if it is not provided, you can be charged with a minimum fine of $25.00 for the first offense and up to $500.00 for each offense thereafter.
Patuxent River Sail and Power Squadron will be conducting this course sponsored by the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. The text for this course is titled: Boat Maryland: A Course on Responsible Boating. Contents of the text are approved by NASBLA, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and recognized by the US Coast Guard.
Text books will be available on the first night of class.
This course includes a wide variety of information, such as:
General information concerning vessels and maintenance.
Information to make your boating experience safer and more comfortable.
Tips on how to be a more courteous vessel operator.
Laws and regulations to which you must adhere.
In general, this information applies to all vessels (powerboats, personal watercraft, and unpowered vessels such as sailboats, canoes, etc.) However, in some places information may apply specifically to personal watercraft.
This course is very comprehensive and each chapter explores details of the following:
Know Your Boat
Before You Get Underway
Operating Your Boat Safely
The Legal Requirements of Boating
Boating Emergencies, What To Do
Enjoying Water Sports with Your Boat